The Pizza Therapy Forum and Pasta Therapy Forum Forum Index The Pizza Therapy Forum and Pasta Therapy Forum
Pizza and Pasta Tales, Tips and Talk

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Go to pizzatherapy.com
Explore pastatherapy.com
Discover the Legends of Pizza
High Gluten Flour Issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Pizza Therapy Forum and Pasta Therapy Forum Forum Index -> Dough Problems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pizza
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:28 pm    Post subject: High Gluten Flour Issues Reply with quote

Dan writes:

Hi Albert-

Happy Holidays!!!!

Thanks for all your hard work with the news letter. I really enjoy it.

I have a problem I want to run by you. I have been making pizza at home for about 3 years. In fact I'm now doing a pizza day once a week where my friends and Fireman at the Station call in orders. Never thought my home cooking would get this far.

Anyway, in many crust recipes high gluten flour is highly recommended. I have been happy with bread flour and found a formula that works very good.

I finally got a 25lb pack of high quality high gluten flour. But am very unhappy with the results. The crust never really cooks in the center all the way and it tends to be a bit on the tough or should I say chewy side. Using it as a hand tossed or pan pizza flour has even worse results.

Could this be because of lack of heat in the oven. I use a stone that preheats for an hour before use. Even at that, I can only get my ovens internal temp with stone to 450/475.

Seems to be just the right flour for a NY style pizza. But certainly not what we are used to in Chicago. Any ideas.

In the mean time I have followed a journey for the last two years to re-create my grandmothers Scotch Pie recipe.