The Pizza Therapy Forum and Pasta Therapy Forum Forum Index The Pizza Therapy Forum and Pasta Therapy Forum
Pizza and Pasta Tales, Tips and Talk

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Go to pizzatherapy.com
Explore pastatherapy.com
Discover the Legends of Pizza
Ingredients

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Pizza Therapy Forum and Pasta Therapy Forum Forum Index -> Ingredients
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pencil

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:51 pm    Post subject: Ingredients Reply with quote

Hello

I'm interested in making a white sauce pizza. Any suggestions for the best white sauce? Also what toppings would be best? I was wondering if scapplops and shrimp might be great. What do you think? I'm a novice at this.

Thanks

Pencil
Vince120

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Pencil

I've seen a "white sauce" be anything from just oil to a cheese sauce concoction. What are you looking for?

Vinny
Pencil

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:56 pm    Post subject: Wite Sauce Pizza Reply with quote

Vinny

I was thinking of making a fish pizza(scallops, lobster, crab and shrimp). Sounds pretty delicious!!! What does anyone think?

Pencil
Vince120

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Pencil

Seafood, great. I see a thick white sauce in your future either Parmesan or a Cajun type, here's the basics on how to do it, this should make plenty for a 12 inch pie;

1 Tablespoon butter
2 cloves garlic
1 Tablespoon flour
pinch salt & pepper
3/4 to 1 cup milk or half and half

For Parmesan;

3/4 cup grated Parmesan

for Cajun;

1/2 tablespoon Cajun seasoning OR make your own Cajun seasoning good for all sorts of stuff by combining;
1t dried oregano
1t dried thyme
1/4t cayenne pepper
scant 1/4t red pepper flakes
1/2t paprika